Homeschool

Homeschool Checkup

What a QUIET week, compared to our last few! I have really enjoyed a normal, boring week of school. πŸ™‚

One day each week, I have a workbook page (of the My Father’s World phonics lessons) for Iris that has me dictate words, and she has to figure out what letters make up the word and write them on her page. This week I had 5 words (one to go with each vowel) and she figured out the spelling of each ALL BY HERSELF! I cannot remember a week prior where I didn’t have to repeat the word more than once or slowly sound out the word to help her think of the letters. I am so proud of her!

Lily has really improved writing her letters as well. She is much quicker with figuring which letter I am talking about if I just say the letter sound. Yesterday she did some practice writing of the letter G. She really struggles with getting the curve of uppercase G to go the right way. She often writes the letter facing backward. πŸ™‚ It’s pretty cute, though; and she’s only 4, so I help her correct it and have her retrace it to review the correct way.

Addy learned our Bible verse in just 2 days this week. She loves making up motions; I think it really does help her remember. The verse this week is Hebrews 4:13a – “Nothing in creation is hidden from God’s sight.” We are learning about zebras and how they use their stripes as camouflage, but God can still see them even if the lions can’t. πŸ™‚

Artie has been napping (or lying in his crib yelling) for the majority of our school time. He has really been fighting morning naps lately, but I know he still needs them. His eyelids look so heavy and he is rubbing his eyes. I know he wants to sleep….just not sure why he fights it.

We are finishing up zebras today and having a library day tomorrow, to get books for the following week.

Great week so far! Very proud of my little geniuses. πŸ™‚

 

One thought on “Homeschool Checkup

Leave a Reply

