Recipe: Graham Crackers

I came across a recipe for homemade graham crackers a while ago, but I just finally got around to trying it Saturday. They turned out awesome! The girls love them, and I even found myself eating several of them.

The website, weelicious.com, has a lot of good recipes for babies and kids. I have enjoyed searching the site for different things. I plan to make many more from there.

I made one change to the recipe, using hard coconut oil in place of the butter. Since we’ve gone mostly organic, butter prices have gone up drastically for us! So, I try to substitute as much as possible for butter in my recipes now. I got a good deal on coconut oil a while back, so I figured it’d be a good exchange….and it was! If you do this exchange, just make sure your coconut oil is hard. Coconut oil gets soft at the slightest temp above room temperature, so you could throw it in the fridge, if it’s not firm when you open it.

Oh, and I did use more whole wheat flour than all-purpose. I think I used 1 1/2 cups whole wheat and 1 cup all-purpose.

So, here is the recipe as I made it:

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed

1/2 tsp salt

1 heaping tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup coconut oil, firm

1/4 cup honey

1/4 water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine first 6 ingredients. Cut in coconut oil, until resembles coarse crumbs. Add honey and water until well combined.

Remove from bowl and shape into large flat disk between 2 sheets parchment paper. Roll out to 1/4 inch thickness. Cut or press into desired shapes ( I used a star cookie cutter). Place on parchment lined baking sheets and bake for 15 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool and serve.

The girls and I were thinking of “dips” for the crackers, and we came up with: homemade frosting, yogurt, nutella (mmmm!), peanut butter.

This recipe makes a lot of crackers, but if you have 3 kids and a few adults eating them, they will go fast! 🙂 Great homemade snack. Kept in an airtight container, I think these will last at least a week!

Happy snacking!!

Leave a Reply

