Homeschool

Homeschool Checkup

This week, we took school on the road!

My dad was in the hospital this week unexpectedly with an infection. Turns out his gallbladder was gangrenous and had to be removed. The kids and I ended up driving down to my parents’ house Tuesday night and brought our school work with us. I didn’t know how long we were going to stay, so I brought a few days of work.

We are learning about penguins this week. Iris and Lily made their Papa get well cards in the shape of penguins. Wish I had taken a picture because they were really cute! I’m sure my dad loved them. šŸ™‚

Iris is still doing great with reading. She is attempting to sound out things (other than in her work) often. I am excited about that; it shows me she really does have an interest in learning if she’s going to do it other than when I’m hovering over her demanding that she do it! Haha.

In math, she’s learning about perimeters. I thought that seemed a little advanced, but she thinks it’s easy. This is the first thing in math she hasn’t complained about, so we’ll just keep on doing perimeters!

Lily is doing great with identifying letters, sounds, and even working on some blends. The girls did a fun work sheet, together and without my help, that had blends (bl, fl, cl, gl, etc) and they had to choose which blend started the word in the picture. They did pretty good. I think there were 12 on the page; they only missed 2.

We didn’t do work yesterday while still at my parents’ house. I was exhausted because the baby didn’t sleep well the night before and things were busy around their house with people coming and going, so we took the day off. Today, we’re going to do the make up work and today’s scheduled work.

Next week is our 100th day, so I am very excited to celebrate that with the girls. One hundred days of home school! We did it! šŸ™‚ Some days I wondered if we’d make it! But, it’s been a great experience and I look forward to whatever we decide for next year (all that is still up in the air).

Today is supposed to be home school picture day with our home school group, but we got back home late last night and I don’t know if we’re going to make it over there. šŸ˜¦ Who knows, though…maybe we will. I would really like to get their picture taken, so they can feel like they get to do some “normal school” things. It is during nap time, though, so we will see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

