Kitchen · Recipes

Recipe: Chicken Barley Soup

I feel like this will be a week of soups. The cold weather has finally started to set in, and soups always seem like the perfect dinner during the cold.

Sunday night, we had my very own creation of Chicken  Barley Soup. Like my cream of tomato soup from yesterday, I had done some research on recipes for a chicken and barley soup, but I made it my own by using ingredient I knew we’d love.

Here’s the result:

Chicken Barley Soup

8 cups organic chicken broth

1/2 cup diced onion

1 stalk celery, diced

2 large carrots, diced

1 cup cooked chicken, shredded or chopped (I had some frozen leftovers from a whole chicken.)

1 cup hulled barley

Salt

Pepper

Garlic Powder or Minced Garlic, to taste

– Heat broth to boil. Add veggies and barley, as well as seasonings. Return to boil, then reduce til simmering. Cover and simmer for about 1 hour.

– Once veggies are very tender and barley is cooked, add in chicken. Heat through and serve.

We enjoyed this with our homemade whole wheat bread and butter. I was going to have a salad with it as well, but I knew the soup would be hearty enough we didn’t need any sides!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Recipe: Chicken Barley Soup

Leave a Reply

