Recipes

Recipe: Cream of Tomato Soup

Since we aren’t eating processed foods, this means we aren’t buying our “cream of…” soups. 😦 I LOVE tomato soup, and I have always only known it from a can and add milk to it and heat.

Well, I’ve been looking up a ton of cream of tomato soup recipes lately to see if I could find one that would suit us. Of course, I didn’t find one I loved, so I combined a few and tweaked some of the ingredients and measurements. I think I’ve found one we will love!

The prep was very easy on this one. The veggies didn’t have to be diced or chopped small because I blended them into a puree after they cooked! That cut down on my chopping time a little.

Cream of Tomato Soup

2 TBSP oil (I used grape seed because it was either that or vegetable, and that’s the one I chose.)

1/2 large onion, chopped

1 large carrot, chopped

1 stalk celery, chopped

1/4 cup flour

2 cups milk

Salt & Pepper

Garlic powder (or you could use minced garlic)

1 – 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes

 

1. Heat oil in large pot on medium-high heat. Add chopped veggies to oil. Add salt, pepper and garlic powder and cook about 10 minutes until all are tender.

2. Add flour to veggies and stir to combine and moisten all the flour. Add milk and stir to combine. Bring to boil. Reduce heat to Medium-Low and stir frequently until it thickens slightly.

3. Stir in tomatoes (with juices) and heat through. Remove from heat. Pour into blender or food processor (in batches, if necessary) and puree. Return pureed mixture to pan and heat through.

Serve topped with a little (or a lot!) cheese.

We had this tonight for dinner with homemade grilled triple cheese sandwiches. Mmmm…

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Cream of Tomato Soup

Leave a Reply

