Homeschool Checkup

This is our first full week back to school since our Christmas Break. It is going great! Iris is making big progress with reading, and she spent last night reading to Dad. 🙂 It was very cute. Then she called both Grandmas and read one of her books to each of them. She was so proud! (and I was, too!!)

Lily has almost mastered counting by 10’s. She forgets 30 every single time, saying 50 instead in its place. BUT, she gets every other one correct, so I’m not complaining. She IS only 4…

Addy is working very hard at perfecting counting from 1 to 10. She does so well telling me the weather for our weather chart. She used to say “sunny” for every day, but now she is starting to understand the differences between sunny, cloudy, windy, rainy, and snowy. She is also doing great when we go over the day, month, date, and year. I was surprised she was retaining all that, but she even noticed we changed from saying “2011” to “2012”. 🙂 She really likes to yell out “2012!”

I got a HUGE compliment from my husband this morning. He mentioned something about school, then said he wasn’t too sure about me continuing with homeschooling but then said last night, listening to Iris read, made him a believer. !!! I was overjoyed about that! He doesn’t say much about school and hasn’t really been able to see us in action much; he just sees the projects or papers at the end of the day. I think actually seeing Iris read helped him understand how hard the girls and I have been working. 🙂 I couldn’t be happier. We still don’t know what we’re going to do with Iris next year, BUT I would be totally fine with home schooling again. Lily misses the cut-off date for starting Kindergarten next year, so she will definitely be home with me.

Today, as a reward for hard work this week, we are starting school a little late. The girls are getting to watch an episode of Rugrats. They’ve been banned from TV all week because of bad behavior, so this is the first day they’re watching TV since last Saturday! And they are so excited!

One thought on “Homeschool Checkup

  1. Thanks on your marvelous posting on home schooling! I actually enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author. I will make sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back at some point. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great job on the importance of education, have a nice morning!

Leave a Reply

