Recipes

Recipe: Quinoa and Beef Skillet

I realized I’ve been lacking with recipes on here lately. These holidays sure have flustered me this year! Between fevers, colds, shopping, and completing changing our eating habits, we have certainly been busy!! 🙂

One of the first recipes I found after going organic a few weeks ago was a ground beef and quinoa skillet. It was pretty plain-looking, so I beefed it up a bit (no pun intended….ok, pun intended! ).

Here’s my QUINOA AND BEEF SKILLET (had to change the name, so I didn’t feel like I was stealing. very creative name change, eh?):

1 TBSP olive oil

1 pound organic ground beef (Step 4 rating at Whole Foods, if anyone’s interested in that much detail)

1 organic celery stalk, diced

1 organic carrot, shredded

1/2 organic sweet onion, diced

1/2 of an organic zucchini, shredded (leave skin on after washing…that’s where the vitamins are!)

1 cup uncooked organic quinoa

2 cups organic chicken broth

1. Heat olive oil in pan. Cook celery, carrot, onion and zucchini for 3-5 minutes. Add in ground beef to brown. Drain fat.

2. While doing step #1, combine quinoa and broth in pot and bring to boil. Then lower heat and cover, simmering for about 15 minutes or until quinoa cooked and liquid absorbed.

3. Salt and pepper meat/veggie mixture. Add quinoa in and stir to combine.

We threw some grated Parmesan cheese on ours and a little garlic powder in the cooking process.

As a side dish, we had raw veggies and ranch dip. Yummy dinner, and a great way to mix in a very protein-rich food item. Quinoa has about twice the amount of protein that barley, corn and rice have; it is also a great source of calcium, iron, vitamin E, phosphorous, and some B vitamins! So much goodness in such a small piece of food!

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Quinoa and Beef Skillet

  1. Hi Angie! I just bought a bag of organic quinoa this week and was looking for a good recipe…here it is 😉 Just one question: the instructions on the bag say that first I have to wash the quinoa, did you do it too or I just cook it in the broth directly?
    Thanks for sharing. Merry Christmas!

    1. I didn’t know about rinsing before cooking when I made it; I read about it later online. It mentioned that saponins are on quinoa and can give it a bitter taste, if not rinsed thoroughly beforehand. I didn’t notice a bitter taste at all. I know there is “pre-rinsed quinoa”, but I’m not sure if the kind I bought was pre-rinsed or not (bought from bulk section at Whole Foods, so no packaging – and I didn’t read the label on the bulk container). I would say rinse it, just to be sure…especially if yours isn’t labeled “pre-rinsed”. Let me know how your cooking goes! We all liked it, and buying it in bulk was inexpensive, so I was happy ours turned out well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

