Household · Organization

Simplifying Your Closet – Part 2

Last week, I went over how to go with less of your clothes in your closet. Today, I’m going to give some pointers on how to go with less of KIDS’ clothing.

#2 – Keep the Kid Clothing Controllable.

I have four kids. Four different sizes. Three girls and one boy. It gets crazy when it’s time to get dressed…if I don’t keep things in order.

We have several very generous relatives and friends that have given us hand-me-downs from their children to keep/borrow for our kids. That has helped us out tremendously when it comes to the expense of clothing. BUT, because so many people offer us clothes (and I have trouble saying no sometimes), we end up with a lot of clothes for each size to go through and either give back, keep to use for the kids, or give away.

We have 2 sets of clothing for each child: Spring/Summer and Fall/Winter. I keep the off seasons and in-between sizes in Rubbermaid bins in the garage until the season or next size child is ready for them.

For the current season(s), I have limited my kids to one and half week’s worth of clothing. That means I have 10 shirts, 2 pair jeans, 4-6 “play” pants, 10 pair of underwear, 7 undershirts, 10 pair socks, 2 sweatshirts, 4 pair of pajamas, and a few dresses (for church).

Kids can be very messy, as I’m sure you mothers know! For myself, I keep enough clothing for a week, but with kids you never know when something will get spilled on or dirtied right before you need to leave the house. πŸ™‚ So, I keep 10 days worth of clothes, in case we have 3 poopied outfits or everyone decides to spill their juice on their shirts.

A week’s worth of clothing is perfectly doable, but I do NOT like to do a random, unexpected load of laundry (call me stubborn). So, I keep a few extra outfits for each child and just rinse/spray/scrub the stained clothing and keep it to wash with the regular laundry loads on Monday. πŸ™‚

For this Fall/Winter, I have 7 long-sleeve shirts and my extra shirts for them (3-4 shirts) are short-sleeves. I don’t have my kids wear jeans often, so we can keep them nice-looking. πŸ™‚ The play pants are just little cotton, stretchy pants that they can run around the house in. I do keep a few more things for the baby because of poop accidents while he’s little. I have a lot of onesies and one piece outfits because I’m finding we are still changing his outfit at least once every day. He really likes to sneak in a mess while we’re in the car!

It can be hard deciding what items to keep and which ones to let go of. It’s the same “rules” as when you went through your own clothes. If it’s stained/torn/worn out or just not fitting like it should, donate or sell it. OR, throw it on Craigslist for free or sale. I come across tons of people on there looking for cheap or free clothes for their children. I recently sold a garbage bag full of 18 month size girl clothing that my youngest daughter grew out of. I counted how many of each kind of clothing I had, listed it in an ad on Craigslist and sold the whole bag for $20. Sure, if I had sold them as separate pieces I probably could have made more money, but I really don’t have the patience to photograph each outfit or item and list them separately. And, it worked out for the woman who bought the bag of clothes. She has twin girls and was happy to get a decent amount of clothing for fairly cheap. πŸ™‚ That made me happy.

The biggest benefit, for us, in having fewer clothes for the kids is that picking out clothes for the next day goes faster at night. I don’t have to sift through 20 shirts to find one that I like for the next day, and if I need my oldest to go grab a shirt to put on, SHE doesn’t have to go through a ton of clothes to just find one.

With 4 kids to pick out clothes for each night before bed, I don’t want to spend 10 minutes in the closet!

I apologize if these thoughts weren’t well laid out. To be honest, this was a rushed post. I didn’t organize my time this week, but I wanted to get this in before the holiday tomorrow!

Next week, I will go over closet storage and organization. Don’t worry….you won’t need to go out and buy a million storage things or shelves; I like to use what we have to organize!

 

One thought on “Simplifying Your Closet – Part 2

Leave a Reply

