Recipes

Recipe: Cran-Bran Bread

This morning’s French Toast Casserole baking kept the house warm. When it got cool, I decided it was time to bake something else! Here’s my variation of a Wheat Bran Cranberry Quick Bread recipe I had. I’m calling mine Cran-Bran Bread. πŸ™‚

 

Cran-Bran Bread

1 egg

1/2 cup milk

1 cup juice (OJ is best, but apple will do)

1/3 cup oil

1 1/2 cup bread flour (or any combos of any other flours, just totaling 1 1/2 cups)

1 cup wheat bran

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 salt

1 cup dried cranberries

3/4 cup brown sugar

Combine egg, milk, juice and oil in large bowl. In separate bowl, combine everything else. Dump dry mix into wet mix and stir just until moistened. Grease 9×5 loaf pan. Pour mix into greased pan. Bake at 350 for 55-60 minutes. Cool 10 minutes on rack IN PAN. Remove from pan and cool on rack.

Can’t wait to eat this. This is my first time using wheat bran. I got it free from a Bob’s Red Mill free coupons offer a while back, so wheat bran was one of the packages I picked. I tried to pick things I wouldn’t normally spend so much money on (the 4 items I got free totaled over $30! but the free coupons for each item were up to $8.99 off, so I got all but I think $1.99 of them free!). I’ve been reading up on fiber and good ways to get it into foods, and I read wheat bran is a great way. You can sprinkle it in with anything, practically.

Hope this turns out as delicious as my house is smelling now! AND, I’m warm again in here. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

