Recap of the Week

My baby’s eating cereal now! Getting so big. 🙂 Sisters are proud.

The girls and I made a big fort in the living room. They enjoyed using their glow sticks from Halloween…even though it was 3 o’clock in the afternoon. 🙂

Our ants came this week! We filled this with sand and put a stick in it to start just the middle tunnel. After I put them in, they dug all the rest of these tunnels! They are so fascinating!

They are really hard workers. I see why the Bible references them. They are non-stop digging and making a home!

Making applesauce this morning. Addy was my big helper and washed the apples for me. 🙂 Yes, she’s still in pajamas…lazy day. And she soaked her sleeves with all her “helping.”

She pretended to taste each one before handing them to me.

Our last 29 apples. SO MUCH PEELING!

Pot -o-apples.

We had a crazy start to the week – one friend’s mom was diagnosed with breast cancer and was scheduled for surgery and another friend’s father had surgery on a brain tumor on Monday. Both procedures went well, thankfully. It’s just been crazy for both families to be going through so much so quick. We are praying for great and fast recoveries for both people.

Monday was AWANA for Iris and Arthur; our ants came in the mail, so I let Addy and Lily stay up so we could set up the ant hill and watch them for a while.

Tuesday was supposed to be Small Group, but it got cancelled because too many people weren’t going to be able to make it. I got good deals on groceries, which totally made my day.

Wednesday, we had Family Night; the girls stayed up until almost 9PM (!!!) to play Wii Bowling with us. It was hilarious and such a great time just hanging out laughing with them. Iris is a great bowler, by the way; she had several strikes and spares! Lily was mostly there to be silly. 🙂 And Addy just wanted to hang out and watch. Iris and I became a little competitive with each other and did some trash talking. It was humorous – “I’ll show you how it’s done, Mom” was her catch phrase for the evening.

Last night, we had our friend’s husband over for dinner. The wife flew home to be with her mom for the breast cancer surgery. We ordered pizza (I know, not part of the menu plan but it was still super delicious!) and watched a movie. I never know how to help someone when their family is going through something, except to feed them. 🙂 And, of course, praying for them. But, hopefully feeding them lets them know we care and love them.

Today, Arthur had to go in to work for a bit (it’s supposed to be his day off), so the girls and I are lounging and watching cartoons all day. Yes, it’s rotting our brains. No, I don’t care. I busted my butt this morning to clean my fridge, clean and chop all the veggies we have for the week, and make applesauce out of our last 29 apples. I figured that was enough work for one day, so we’re being lazy now.

Next week, we’ll be studying insects for school, and I am hoping to get some cinnamon rolls and pancakes made ahead of time for breakfasts, as well as some dinner rolls and loaves of bread. I have high expectations for the baking, but we’ll see what actually gets accomplished! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Recap of the Week

Leave a Reply

