Homeschool Checkup

I would like to start posting a recap of our home school happenings every Thursday. I think it’ll help keep me accountable with consistency in our home school studies. I have the lesson plans and my planner and all those good things, but I don’t have anyone looking over my shoulder to make sure I’m getting done what we need to.

I know some moms like the laid-back approach to schooling, and they just kind of go with the flow and don’t follow any particular lesson plan. BUT, I am not able to function that way. If I don’t follow a schedule very strictly, I become extremely lazy and do absolutely nothing. I’m very serious. It seems unlikely, since I am constantly talking about organization and planning and whatnot, but I talk about those things often because I need a MILLION reminders to stay on task. I am scatterbrained, and I must have a checklist and a plan!

The past few weeks have been rather lazy as far as school. I have been waiting on ants to arrive for our week on Insects. I sent in the order form late (only by mail, they don’t offer an online order form! argh!! It’s 2011, people….get online!), so the ants just arrived Monday. I needed to start this Insect study last week, but it got pushed to this week. BUT, this is a week my hubby’s off Thursday and Friday, so the school schedule is all mixed up. So, we’re starting the insect study NEXT week now. Last week and this week, I’ve been reviewing a lot of things with Iris.

She has trouble with focus. Those of you that know her understand what I’m talking about. She is very chatty, easily distracted, and stubborn. Iris has learned very well how to throw a fit and get us off course quickly. Last week we reviewed a lot of phonics and spelling. She is doing so well with reading, and she seems to really enjoy it!

This week, we reviewed math. She is NOT a fan of math…at all! This is where the tantrums begin. 🙂 I LOVE math, so my patience with her is at an all-time low this week. I know it’s just personality differences, but it frustrates me to no end that she doesn’t want to learn math. I know she can do the work, but I also know she does not want to. It’s funny, in a way, because I went through the same thing with her father in college. Arthur does not like math at all; we had a very simple Accounting class in mortuary school. I loved it, and I even got the Accounting award when we graduated (not to toot my horn or anything. LOL! :)) When Arthur and I did homework or studied together, he would always put off the Accounting until last. I liked to do it first because it was the fastest work ever. He KNEW how to do the balance sheets, he just didn’t want to take the time to write all the numbers and add them up. Same with Iris. She can do the math in her head(addition), but she does not want to spend time writing out the problems and answers.

So, we have school again Saturday morning. Our last day of review and then Monday I’ll have a test for them. I know I don’t HAVE to test them, but I like to know how much they’re retaining. I don’t give any helps for Iris with tests. Lily gets help, but she’s only preschool.

I feel like Iris is very smart, but she would rather sit and talk than learn. I guess that’s most kids, right? But me? I would so much rather sit and read and learn than I would talk. I’m not social like Iris. I’m a nerd in every sense of the word. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Homeschool Checkup

  1. Amen! I’m with you all the way! I need a schedule and lists otherwise I’m lazy and do nothing. 🙂 and I’d much rather read, learn, and do numbers than be social. I think that may be a family thing, though, because I don’t particularly see any of the Ballah’s being really “social”. But I guess if it’s a curse to have, at least it’s a good curse. 🙂 Glad to hear Iris is doing so well with reading and at least mental math. Have you given her any fun math worksheets where you color a picture according to the number answer (i.e. 4= blue, 5=green, 3= red, etc.)? Some of my kindergarteners preferred that because it had at least a little element of “fun” to math and it had a cool outcome (colored picture) in the end.

    • We’ve done a couple of fun math sheets. She just gets in a mood when she sees numbers! 🙂 We’re working through it, though. Last night while I was making dinner, I dictated addition problems to her and she had to solve them using a number line. She seemed to like that. Maybe it’s just when I’m hovering over her she doesn’t like to do math. 🙂

Leave a Reply

