A Good Night’s Rest

I have had such a hard time getting adequate sleep for the past several weeks. Ever since Artie got his 4 month shots, he has just not been acting the same and he lost his sleeping through the night routine. 😦 Very sad.

The girls have been playing around at bed time and not quieting down for an hour or more each night. This makes it difficult for my husband and I to spend time together or watch a movie or do anything, really! So, we are starting our movies later than normal, which means we’re getting to bed later. I’ve still been getting up at 5:20AM, though, because I absolutely need that time to myself to get ready for the day (shower, Bible reading, mental prep for school, make breakfast, etc). This has made for one very tired Mama! And, I’m pretty sure it’s not helping me get over this cold any quicker. 😦

Last weekend, I moved Artie into the girls’ bedroom to start sleeping in the crib. He is WAY too big for the bassinet in our room and wakes himself up trying to roll over because he rolls into the side of it. (And he’s probably way too old to have still been in a bassinet, but I have always let my babies stay longer in there than needed….it’s hard to give up having them so close to me. :)) So, I finally moved him into the crib over the weekend. At first, he was still waking up in the middle of the night, as he has ever since his 4 month shots. It was very tiring, but I knew he’d figure it out eventually. Tuesday night, he did! He slept until I woke up at 5:20; I nursed, and he went back to sleep again for another hour or so! Then last night, he slept all night just fine and didn’t get up until almost 7AM!! And he woke up so pleasant and smiling. 🙂 I still woke up randomly in the middle of the night, out of habit, but it was so great to just fall back asleep without having to get up and nurse him!

Now that I know he can sleep that well in the crib, I think we will be getting more sleep on a regular basis. I just have to figure out a way to get the girls to stay in bed when we put them to bed! They go potty before bed, but for some reason they each have to get up shortly after lying down…to go potty again. So frustrating. I don’t want to say no to them going because I don’t want a wet bed, but when one gets back up the other 2 get up. And now that Artie is sleeping in there, he is ready to sleep by 7:30 but the girls are still fooling around. I don’t want them to wake him up!

One step at a time, I guess. I’ll just have to work on being content with each accomplishment instead of worrying about the next one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

