Head Colds Day 2

We are still struggling with our colds today. My oldest had a fever all last night and today. My third child was all stuffy and uncomfortable today as well. I am still stuffed up yet have a runny nose at the same time. I really don’t understand it at all.

I am deviating from our menu plan again for tonight’s dinner. I just have no desire to make and eat pork right now…I fear my tastes are off and that I wouldn’t be able to enjoy the flavor.

So, I found a recipe I haven’t made in a while for Cheesy Ranch Potatoes. It sounded delicious and warm. I am just going to make some scrambled eggs with it. (Yes, that is an odd combination – eggs and cheesy ranch potatoes – but I don’t care. We’re not getting any protein from the meat tonight, so I figured why not make some eggs? :))

Cheesy Ranch Potatoes

4-5 cups cubed potatoes

3/4 cup of each – ranch dressing, sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese

1 TBSP bacon (I am using the bacon pieces we have for salads)

1 1/2 TBSP butter, melted

1/2 cup bread crumbs (or crushed crackers, as I’m using for tonight)

Microwave potatoes until almost mushy (6 1/2 minutes on my microwave). Mix ranch, sour cream, cheese, and bacon together in small bowl. Place cooked potatoes in 9×13 dish. Pour ranch mixture over and toss to coat. Combine melted butter and crumbs. Sprinkle over top of potatoes. Bake at 375 degrees for 20-30 minutes.

Hopefully we are all on the mend by tomorrow…it’s HALLOWEEN! I’d hate to miss trick-or-treating and our annual get-together with friends. My friend Christi and her mom make a bunch of yummy foods for us to stop by and enjoy after trick-or-treating. It’s a lot of fun and the kids love getting together!

Praying for no fevers, a restful night, and a better day tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

