Household · lessons in love

Back Into Routine

After my post on August 26, I took some time away from the computer (as you can tell!). It was much-needed. I spent time away from the computer distraction and spent more time working on my attitude and just being with my family.

I am happy to say I am feeling better. I am working to control my anger and my grouchiness; I feel like I’m doing A LOT more self-talk during the day. Sounds a little goofy, but I have to tell myself to slow down or take a minute away from the kids to calm down when I’m upset about their misbehavior. So far, I’m doing well.

I have found new ways for Iris to spend her time outs. Sitting by herself doesn’t work; she continues to throw a fit and act out. So, I now have her stand at the 1-100 numbers chart and point and count from 1 to 100. ๐Ÿ™‚ I know, schoolwork probably shouldn’t be used as punishment, but it focuses her energy and her anger at something and she gets over being mad about punishment much quicker.

Another thing I struggled with was Iris and Lily saying they were bored. ??? There’s so much to do – games, puzzles, crafts – but apparently they are easily bored. Well, now I’ve been putting them to work – cleaning, emptying garbage cans, etc. They have their normal chores on certain days but giving them other “chores” to do when they’re bored seems to help. ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t seem to hear “I’m bored” as often!

Today we missed church. Lily got sick yesterday morning while she was at my in-laws. I was in Indiana at my cousin’s shower, and my in-laws had the girls for me. Poor Lily threw up and had diarrhea. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ And after not having thrown up in several hours, I arrived to pick them up and come home. We loaded up the car and got almost all the way home but she barfed in the car. YUCK! I had to stop a block from our house because the smell was just awful; I had to get it cleaned up a bit. Iris and Lily got to ride the last block home UNBUCKLED in their seats. They thought that was awesome….I was just praying a policeman didn’t pull us over. (Although if he had, I think he would’ve been understanding of the puddle in Lily’s car seat and would’ve known by the smell in there that I wasn’t lying. LOL)

She’s a little better today and eating more. I am praying the other kids don’t get sick and we can enjoy Labor Day tomorrow with my husband (as long as he doesn’t get called in to work). As much as it stinks to be stuck home on a holiday and unable to hang out with friends, I do like these unexpected times of being home together…it’s a nice break from the usual running around. It forces us to just relax and forget routine for a day. ๐Ÿ™‚

Tuesday, though, it’s back to the routine. Which reminds me, I need to do some lesson plans for Tuesday through Friday. Oops!

Leave a Reply

