Zucchini Creation

We have a new air conditioning unit! I finally felt like heating the stove to make dinner last night! 🙂

I made chicken to put on top of salad, but I needed a side dish that wasn’t too heavy and had some good flavors. I had 3 zucchini from the store, but I wasn’t in the mood to just have sauteed zucchini. I googled a couple of zucchini salads, but I didn’t find anything our family would eat (or that I had all the ingredients for).

I decided to use 2 of the zucchini and a can of black beans. I diced the zucchini and placed it with the beans (rinsed and drained, of course) in a saute pan that had extra virgin olive oil. I sauteed them, adding salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. I knew that wasn’t enough flavor but couldn’t think of what would go well with it. Tomatoes? No, my husband doesn’t like chunks of tomatoes. Green pepper? No, that would need more flavors…things I didn’t have on hand. Corn? I only had frozen and didn’t want them to get too mushy.

I decided on bacon…turkey bacon. I wasn’t sure how that would taste, but I was pretty sure I couldn’t go wrong with bacon!

So, I added 3 slices of bacon to the pan and cooked them just until the bacon was crispy and the zucchini was tender but still crunchy. Turns out it was delicious! Iris and Lily had two helpings of it with dinner. AND, my picky eater of a husband even had some. 🙂 I begged him to at least try it, and he tossed in on his salad with the chicken.

This will be a recipe to add to our “regulars”, especially when zucchini is cheap this time of year.

 

Zucchini, Bean and Bacon Salad

  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 1/2 cups diced zucchini (about 1 1/2 medium zucchini or two small)
  • 3 slices turkey bacon, chopped
  • 2 TBSP Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1 tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1 tsp Onion Powder

Heat oil in medium skillet on medium or medium high heat. Add beans, zucchini and bacon to skillet. Season with salt and pepper (as much as desired), garlic powder and onion powder. Cook, stirring occasionally, until zucchini become transparent and bacon is crispy.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

